Board of Directors

Penny S. Johnson, President (Term Expires: 5/2024)
Manny DePau, Vice President (Term Expires: 5/2026)
Karen Odell, Secretary (Term Expires: 5/2024)
Michael McCullough, Assistant Secretary (Term Expires: 5/2024)
Steve Rickelman, Treasurer (Term Expires: 5/2026)


The District is a conservation and reclamation district created by order of the Texas Water Commission, predecessor to the TCEQ, on June 28, 1978, in accordance with the pertinent provisions of Article XVI, Section 59 of the Texas Constitution, and operates as a municipal utility district pursuant to Chapters 49 and 54 of the Texas Water Code, as amended.

The District is empowered, among other things, to purchase, construct, operate and maintain all works, improvements, facilities and plants necessary for the supply and distribution of water; the collection, transportation, and treatment of wastewater; and the control and diversion of storm water.  The District may issue bonds and other forms of indebtedness to purchase or construct such facilities.

The TCEQ exercises continuing supervisory jurisdiction over the District.  The District is required to observe certain requirements of the City of Houston that limit the purposes for which the District may sell bonds to the acquisition, construction, and improvement of waterworks, wastewater, and drainage facilities and the refunding of outstanding debt obligations; limit the net effective interest rate on such bonds and other terms of such bonds; require approval y the City of Houston of District construction plans; and permit connections only to platted lots and reserves which have been approved by the Planning Commission of the City of Houston.

The District contains approximately 343 acres of land.  The District is located approximately 25 miles northwest of the central downtown business district of the City of Houston within Harris County, Texas.  (see map)  The District is located entirely within the exclusive extraterritorial jurisdiction of the City of Houston and within the boundaries of the Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District.

District Map

HCMUD162 – District Map (PDF)